Review: 4/5 Double DIN Stereo

Mako

Club Member
Feb 6, 2011
Milton Keynes
So c_Derek_b and Dandmano each bought one of these. It's a cheap Double DIN head unit with a touch-screen. At the time I type this, the market is flooded with them and they cost around £40.

Some come with remote controls and some with a reverse camera. Since I already have a reverse camera, I bought the one with the remote.

The box:

YqtEtcb.jpg

There's no real branding and this is your first clue about what you're getting into. Their specific model is labelled though.

What's in the box:

hVdkZeN.jpg

Well, there it is. No cage, so you're going to have to secure it yourself. There's a pair of looms, but you shouldn't need to use them if you have a Ford-ISO conversion kit already.

What it really looks like:

kbODfRQ.jpg

It's pretty, and the volume/power/mode buttons are positive and solid.

Before I tried to install it, I thought I'd plug it in and check it out. I'm not a bass mechanic, but the fact that it's a 60Wx4 as standard is pretty good. The sound is full and rich, and it works well with my JBLs.

5SfvcPu.jpg

But it has all the normal outputs, and I imagine you could happily hook it up to an amp. It also has all the usual inputs and is phone-ready with Bluetooth and a microphone.

oQCVEpN.jpg

After looking at it for a while, I realised that it's only some plastic that you need to cut out from the dash. An hour later...

sa0FYI0.jpg

Summary:

The good:

1) It's cheap but good quality.
2) The internal amplifier is more powerful than Sony or JVC equivalents and sounds fantastic.
3) The overall functionality is superb. The touchscreen is far more responsive than you'd expect.
4) Fitment is simple if you have a Dremel.
5) The Bluetooth/phone system works very well and is really clear.

The bad:

1) It's un-branded. Who are they and who do you shout at if it goes wrong?
2) You need a Dremel to fit it.

Summary:

Why haven't you bought one of these if you need a double-DIN?