New Cat owner here.

N

Night_inc

Hi all!

About two weeks ago I made what turned out to be the best decision of my life; I became the proud owner of a 2001 V6 Cat1 'X' in black. After a couple of weeks of running her in and getting used to the bigger engine (my history starts with a 1987 1.1 ford fiesta, onto a 07 plate BMW 318, onto the Cat) I think i've just fallen in love. Today I got her cleaned inside and out and did a thorough test of all the gizmo's and conditioned the leather. She smells great and looks superb!

I'm a bit of a purist, and aside from the new stereo and possibility of a rear spoiler, I want to keep her as she was made. But i'm a complete novice when it comes to cars. Love driving them with a passion, but have an extremely limited knowledge when it comes to what makes them tick; hence I had a quick look through this site and quickly decided the subscription was well worth it - my Cat (i'm told) has every possible option available on a Cougar.

With that in mind my first question is this - and I apologise for what i'm sure are stupid/amateur questions! Just went out to buy a 5l drum of oil. Chose Halfords own brand 5w-30. They assured me it would be fine for the Cat and it's the same standard number, except 'b' instead of 'a'. But when I checked the level it appeared to be almost empty. I had no warning light come on - is this usual? Also, the dipstick doesn't seem to be that clear - i emptied 2l in but it didn't seem to raise that much. Does this indicate a problem, or had the previous owner just let her run dry? Am I looking for a 'solid' level across the dipstick, or am i looking just for the oil along the thin edge of the dipstick?

Looking forward to a long relationship with my Cat, and a fruitful one with you guys!

Ta,

Ian.

Last edited: